Champoeg features a unique combination of history, nature, and recreation. This is the site where Oregon’s first provisional government was formed by a historical vote in 1843. Situated on the south bank of the scenic Willamette River, Champoeg’s acres of forest, fields, and wetlands recreate the landscape of a bygone era. Tour the park’s visitor center, Newell House, and Pioneer Mothers Log Cabin museums to discover pioneer life at Champoeg. Take a guided walk to learn what happened to the bustling pioneer town of Champoeg, and how the Donald Manson Barn was built. An 1860s-style garden lies behind the visitor center.
The park also includes the Historic Butteville Store founded in 1863. It is possibly the oldest operating store in Oregon. The store is the last commercial vestige of the once thriving Willamette River community of Butteville. The store is closed for the winter season except on the 1st and 3rd Saturdays of the month, when the store will be open at 5 p.m., with dinner seating beginning at 6 p.m., and live music from 7 to 9 p.m. Limited seating reservations are available by calling the store directly at (503) 678-1605. You can view the live music schedule on the store’s website.
Champoeg State Heritage Area is on the National Register of Historic Places. For this reason, drones and metal detectors are not allowed anywhere in the park.
- Eight full-hookup sites
- 67 electric sites with water
- Six walk-in tent sites
- Six yurts (Three; see our Pets in Parks FAQ for more info)
- Six cabins (Three; see our Pets in Parks FAQ for more info)
- Three group tent camping areas
- RV group camping loop with meeting hall
- Hiker/biker camp
- Flush toilets and hot showers
- RV dump station
- Firewood and ice for sale
All of the cabins, one yurt (F), five campsites and one walk-in tent site (T5) are accessible to campers with disabilities.