Vista House at Crown Point

Vista House was built between 1916 and 1918 by Multnomah County as a comfort station and scenic wayside for those traveling on the Historic Columbia River Highway, which was completed in 1916. Vista House is also a memorial to Oregon pioneers. It was formally dedicated on May 5th, 1918.

The graceful octagonal stone structure towers 733 feet above the Columbia River and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and in National Geographic Society’s 2001 Save America’s Treasures.

In 2000, Vista House was closed for almost five years while an extensive restoration was completed. Over $4 million was raised through the joint efforts of the Oregon State Parks Trust, the Friends of Vista House, and the Oregon Parks and Recreation Department to fund the restoration. The Vista House reopened to the public in the summer of 2005 and was formally rededicated May 5, 2006, in a grand ceremony.

The Friends of Vista House now works in partnership with Oregon State Parks to help share the experience of Vista House with over one million visitors each year.

The Vista House at Crown Point offers picnicking, historic buildings, historic and interpretive displays, interpretive displays, and opportunities for viewing scenery.