This home was built in 1900 on what is known as the ”Harlow Farm” by Fred E. Harlow, son of Capt. John Harlow. Originally a sea captain from Maine, Captain Harlow was a Portland businessman who came to the Sandy River to establish a country farm. He named his place Troutdale because of the fish ponds he built near the cliff. He convinced them to establish a depot, which took the name of the farm. Fred Harlow and his family lived in the home until about 1915. The second occupants of the home were Lou Harlow, another of the captain’s sons, and his wife Laura Bullock Harlow. Both Lou and Laura were mayors of Troutdale.
Fred E. Harlow House Museum
This listing is provided by Explore Troutdale